Postum: R.I.P.

OVER AT OAK LEAVES, Houston International pastor Bill Cork (“Cardinal Cork” to this blogger) reports on the demise of that Adventist veggie-coffee known as Postum.

A favored caffeine-free alternative for generations of Adventists and Mormons, Kraft Foods’ Postum leaves the field now to Pero and other cereal-coffee alternatives.

If you have a jar of Postum somewhere in the cupboard, consider hanging onto it for a few years. Who knows what it might then bring on eBay—or an ad in the union conference papers?

What other artifacts of Adventist subculture are on the endangered list? Big Franks? Grillers? And by the way, it’s been a while since I’ve seen a box of Ruskets anywhere (“A Prize in Every Package”). Anybody else grow up on bowls of soggy Ruskets?

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lara on January 11, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Didn’t they discontinue Nuteena some time back? I’m sad. I miss Nuteena. One of the other companies has a clone product, but it’s just not the same.

    Happy Sabbath.

    Reply

    • Posted by Mary on June 12, 2009 at 8:57 am

      I grew up on Ruskets for breakfast (1940’s). Then they seemed to disappear. Shopping at Safeway about 5 years ago, I became curious of the product “Weetabix” on a special shelf near other cereals. I bought it, and now—in the 21st century, we enjoy Weetabix from Australia. They are one and the same. Last year, we were flying to New Zealand, and the steward asked what kind of cereal do I want. I replied, “Weetabix” and her eyes got really big for a moment. She wondered why I wanted that, and I told her that Weetabix was the same as Ruskets. Then her eyes popped out on stems, and she said, “Really!”

      Reply

  2. Huh? Wha? No Nuteena? (Insert vegetarian expletive here.)

    Reply

  3. Man…I thought that nuteena was horrible…

    Reply

  4. Each to his own, SHCII. To me, some varieties of vege-hooey are like chewing a mouthful of rubber bands and take three weeks to digest…so I hear you.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Ron Leming on May 9, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Ruskets were my favorite cereal as a kid. And you have to search hard to find them, but they can be had. In Australia, where they’re tremendously populat still, they’re called Weet-Bix. I’m often hungry for Ruskets these days. People think I’m crazy because I think the only decent cereal to eat is cereal that gets soggy.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Else on May 22, 2008 at 10:44 am

    No Nuteena?!? (echoing expletive) RIP Nuteena

    Ruskets were my all-time favorite cereal! We used to put peanut butter between them, kind of like a sideways sandwich, then drizzle honey all over them, before adding the milk. Yum.

    By the way, they carry “Weetabix Organic Cereal” (not Weet-Bix, they’re made by a UK company) at a lot of grocery stores here in the US (at least in Michigan and California), I get them at Safeway… Almost the same as Ruskets. But not quite.

    Interesting tidbit:
    Weet-Bix don’t get soggy quite as fast as Weetabix.

    Reply

  7. Posted by TONY PAREDES on July 11, 2008 at 11:10 am

    WHERE CAN I WRITE TO PURCHASE RUSKETS OR RUSKETS FLAKES? I LIVE IN LAKEWOOD WA. pLEASE LET ME KNOW. I LOVED THE CEREAL. TONY PAREDES.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Shannon on September 26, 2008 at 12:11 am

    OK, thank you. I went looking for ‘nuteena’ on the net and found this blog for pity’ sake. And does anyone else remember vegelona??? Good grief, how hilarious to have this sub-culture that actually KNOWS all this vegetarian food stuff!! Too funny! I miss my Nuteena sandwiches!! Anyone got a petition to Loma Linda about bringing it back? Also, can they STOP changing recipes on the tried and true stuff like Little Link and Linketts? Leave ’em alone, guys, if it ain’t broke…..

    Reply

  9. Thanks, Shannon. Yes, what other subculture knows so much about vege-hooey?

    Reply

    • Posted by MsDrPepper on August 27, 2009 at 8:08 am

      Lotsa subcultures probably know about vege-hooey for a variety of reasons… I was raised Seventh Day but not SDA – we were more like what now might be called Messianic. Back in the day, it was a constant struggle to find Kosher (clean) foods, clean meats, restaurants cooked with lard (unclean) etc. Many times the end-run was just simply to go vegetarian or in some cases, vegan – and this was all in the day when “vegan” was not a mainstream word. In fact, I don’t remember using the words “vegetarian” or “vegan” at church, simply because we didn’t want to be mistaken for other spiritual practices who also espoused a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle.

      Reply

  10. Posted by Dennis on January 10, 2009 at 9:20 am

    I was brought up on Ruskets in the 50’s. I visited the Ruskets factory (Loma Linda Foods in Riverside, California) on an elementary school field trip in the 50’s. It was amazing to see the several story oven where trays of Ruskets moved up, then down as they were baked. That trip was embedded in my mind and I can still clearly remember each step of the tour. I believe the factory is now on the national historical registry.

    My last taste of Ruskets was in the 60’s when I moved. The factory was shut down. In 1985 I was in Fiji and found Weetabix in a store. The cereal was the same exact product I remembered as a child. Same packaging, same great taste, just a different name on the box. I now live in Utah and eat Weetabix almost every day. It is sold in most of our grocery stores.

    Reply

    • Posted by Janice Goodson on February 10, 2011 at 10:07 pm

      I really don’t agree that Weetabix is much like Ruskets at all. Ruskets had larger, darker brown flakes and were much more flavorful. I eat Weetabix as a poor substitute and can find them in almost all stores in California, but Oh what I would do for Ruskits!

      Reply

  11. Thanks, Dennis. I too have found some stores in my area that carry Weetabix…and except for not having a “Prize in Every Package,” as Ruskets did, I can’t tell the difference. Oh, and the Weetabix I get has only two long packages inside, instead of four smaller ones per box.

    Reply

  12. Posted by zaxy on January 22, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    i found this because i’m on the phone with my aunt who is (at 65) telling me how much she misses Ruskets, Corn Soya, and ‘the original Wheaties’ cereals. 🙂
    for anyone else reading this, I’ve heard that Trader Joe’s carries Weetabix.

    Reply

  13. Please consider signing a petition to bring back postum at petitiononline.com (search for postum)

    Maybe a large group of people can make a difference

    Reply

  14. Cedar Lake Foods in Michigan is doing a nice job of replacing many of the products that others are discontinuing. For example, Proteinut for Proteena, Nuti-Loaf and Nuti-Supreme for Nuteena. Maybe they will come up with a Postum replacement…

    Reply

  15. Posted by George Godfrey on April 27, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    I grew up on Ruskets in the 50’s. I loved them ! Lots of kids didn’t but that mean’t more for my family. They were certainly better than cereals are today !!. My favorite was the compressed bar Rusket, my mom loved the flake variety. I missw them and the original shredded wheat biscuits !!!

    Reply

  16. Posted by James Sabo on July 17, 2011 at 2:26 am

    Ruskets and ruskets flakes were some of my favorites too as a kid in the late 50s. I just got to thinking about them recently and thought I would look them up on the internet. I never heard of weet a bix though. I recently found MUFFETS shredded wheat is still available in Canada and a friend of mine is sending me a couple boxes. But , the postage is out in left field. I also wonder if KRUMBLES and PEP cereals are extinct too.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Clayton Whetmore on August 6, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    October 1942 “Life & Health” http://www.adventistarchives.org/docs/LH/LH19421001-V57-10__C.pdf will bring back some great memories: Vegelona, including recipes for the sandwich spread; All-Bran for constipation (presented to diners by a lamb!)

    Reply

  18. Posted by Ron Leming on November 12, 2014 at 9:22 am

    I grew up on Ruskets. Best breakfast cereal ever made. I still can’t forgive breakfast cereals for remaining crunchy in milk. A decent, respectable cereal is supposed to get soggy. I grew up on the biscuits or wafers or whatever to call them. They tasted almost like graham crackers and milk, still my favorite comfort food.

    My last boxes of Ruskets were in Berkeley, Calif in about 1989. Whole Foods carried Ruskets. I was amazed. It was like meeting a dear, old, long lost friend after many years. Still just as delicious. I remember buying the only two boxes on the shelf. I didn’t think about it then, but it’s possible I bought the last two boxes ever made.

    Ruskets needs to return.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

