Your Top-Ten Goals?

YOU CAN FIND A WEBSITE on any conceivable topic these days. One that draws a lot of traffic is “43 Things”—a goal-sharing site.

Based on the expressed goals of their visitors, here’s their list (as of the day of this post) of the all-time top personal goals. I’ll list here only the top ten of their current top 100:

  1. Lose weight.
  2. Stop procrastinating.
  3. Fall in love.
  4. Write a book.
  5. Be happy.
  6. Get a tattoo.
  7. Drink more water.
  8. Go on a road trip with no predetermined destination.
  9. Get married.
  10. Travel the world.

Now, I’m not going to overly criticize this list. In fact, I’d say at least five of these top goals are on my own personal hit-list—and some of the others, I’ve already accomplished.

I could live another 500 years, though, and never want to do #6. How on earth can there really be that many people for whom getting a tattoo is one of their top-ten goals in life?

Some observations on the “43 Things” list:

  • I can only applaud the whole idea of setting and working toward personal goals. If you aim at nothing, you will most certainly hit it. As that great philospher Yogi Berra said: “If you don’t know where you are going, you’ll end up someplace else.”
  • And as perhaps a more credible philosopher said: “Ah, but a man’s reach should exceed his grasp, or what’s a heaven for?”—the poet Robert Browning. Like many others, I set and track goals in all major areas of my life: mental, physical, spiritual, financial, relational, vocational, and recreational.

  • In general, the above list seems heavily “me”-oriented. Where’s something about “be a better parent,” “be more giving to my spouse,” or “find ways to help those in need”?
  • The list on this website, at least, reflects not a single goal that includes a spiritual or Christian element. Even in reading not just the top ten, but the top 100 goals listed on the site, I see not one about “get to know God better,” “live out the Golden Rule,” or “do all the good I possibly can.”

Question for reflection: Whether your top ten or top 43 goals, what are yours? And what do your personal goals say about you, your life, your priorities, the people around you, and your view of God and eternity?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Ken,

    My goal is to practice being satisfied (knowing how far I’ve come to get where I am today) and balance that with my hunger – my desire to learn, improve, and grow.

    David

    Reply

  2. Thanks for the comment, David…and for the link to your blog. I’ve enjoyed browsing it….good stuff!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Idetrorce on December 15, 2007 at 5:01 am

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

    Reply

  4. Agreement not requred! Thanks for weighing in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

